A lot of reading to do…

As T hits the so-called “terrible twos” (I refuse to totally accept this label… but I can’t seem to come up a better descriptor… the “trying twos” maybe?) I thought I better read (and in some cases re-read) some books on toddler development.

I went crazy on the library catalog & have the following coming to me in the next few days:

  • Raising Your Spirited Child by Mary Sheedy Kurcinka (when I skimmed this the first time I thought “Aw, my kid’s not that spirited” … boy, was I wrong!)
  • Science of Parenting by Margot Sunderland (science is always good food for thought, even it I don’t end up buying it all…)
  • The Attachment Connection by Ruth P. Newton (never actually read it when T was an infant, but I’m increasingly curious about how this whole “attachment parenting” thing works in toddlerhood & beyond… also curious how “attachment theory” matches up to the science in the Sunderland book)
  • Your Two-Year-Old: Terrible or Tender by Louise Bates Ames (old but came recommended – if you have a favorite book on a two-year-old’s development please post in the comments!)
  • Playful Parenting by Lawrence J. Cohen (playful parenting sounds like it couldn’t be a bad thing & I am in some serious need of more playfulness in my parenting lately)
  • Unconditional Parenting by Alfie Kohn (read this right before T hit this challenging phase, so I thought I could use to brush up on some of Kohn’s great “discipline” advice)

Phew! This is more than I (or MFA Dad) can get through, but I’m sure it’ll be interesting. Hopefully I’ll be able to write a review or two…

2 Comments

Filed under Attachment Parenting, Gentle Discipline, Parenting

2 responses to “A lot of reading to do…

  1. I recommend “The Emotional Life of the Toddler” by Alicia Lieberman. It reads a little out-of-date (that is, psychoanalytical), but I have found it invaluable in understanding my almost-three-year-old.

    We think of this age as “the exhausting age” rather than the terrible twos. He is wonderful, exciting, funny, interesting – but very intense (the constant negotiation!) and we are often exhausted. It also helped when we heard the advice to think of it as “two years duration” rather than age two – it certainly started at 18 months once he was fully mobile and verbalizing and I can see it will certainly go until into his third year. And then something else will happen!

    • Ooh! I love that: the exhausting age. It’s so true. I thought I’d feel so much more rested by this point (now that he sleeps much better) but, no, I’m utterly exhausted all the time.

      And, thanks, I will definitely check out the Lieberman book!

Leave a Reply

