Who loves raisins?

20121216-082300.jpg

6:30 am:

Me, making oatmeal: “Who loves raisins?”

T, grabbing a handful: “I love raisins! … And oatmeal loves raisins.”

T, five minutes later: “My rule is that when the oatmeal is creamy, I can put maple syrup on it.”

Yeah, we eat a lot of oatmeal.

I’ve been wanting to add a food component to this blog for a while. As T gets older & I am still working hard to recover from a number of postpartum/diet-induced deficiencies (more on that another day), nutrition has become a big deal to us as a family.

Not just nutrition, but dense & quick nutrition. At least, as quick as it can be. I’m learning there are few “convenient” healthy foods. But I’m also learning that my family’s health is worth every moment spent on preparing homemade & nutritious meals.

I’m not a dietician but just a mom who spends a lot of time thinking about & researching food. And as a team MFA Dad & I have come up with a few tricks for eating well without driving ourselves crazy.

I’m also passionate about food politics & have been since I was 15 years old. As those who know me could tell you, I get worked up talking about food so I am psyched about having a soap box an outlet for this side of my existence.

I envision my “Food Fridays” as being a mix of recipes, reviews & ramblings on food. The focus will always be on family nutrition. My little food experiment is definitely a work in progress so I’m all for feedback from readers!

**********

So let’s start with breakfast. Here’s my recipe for oatmeal, it’s a recipe I cook almost every morning while sipping a cup of coffee. Or while racing around to get ready for work. Depends on the day.

We decided that even organic whole grain cereal flakes were too processed & contained more wheat than was good for us. Granola, which MFA Dad & T love is too sugary, even at its most “natural”. (Despite the occasional request for a drop of maple syrup, this oatmeal is unsweetened.)

When paired with plain yogurt or kefir & a touch of fresh or frozen fruit, this breakfast is filling & nutritious. Paired with a little breakfast sausage or an egg & it’s awesomely complete.

Plus, you can make double & eat it cold with yogurt the next day, too. As quickly as you would a bowl of cereal.

20121216-082908.jpg
Hearty, Healthy Oatmeal
3-4 servings
3 cups water (filtered, if you can)
1 1/2 cups old fashioned thick rolled oats
1 Tbsp raw, unsalted sunflower seeds
1 Tbsp raw, unsalted pumpkin seeds
1 Tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
2 Tbsp ground flaxseed
2 Tbsp hemp seed
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp ginger
Dash cloves
1/4 cup raisins

Bring water to a boil. Add oatmeal & lower heat. Simmer uncovered for 8 minutes.

Add remaining ingredients. Stir well & cook on low for 2-3 minutes.

Serve & add milk, yogurt, or kefir, plus fruit or a hint of maple syrup enjoy!

In an upcoming Food Friday post, I’ll post my recipe for soaked steel-cut oatmeal, which is my preferred breakfast & is fast.

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Mothering, Parenting

One response to “Who loves raisins?

  1. Pingback: Lightning quick steel-cut oats | Mom, JD

Leave a Reply

